EVANSTON, IL - OCTOBER 05:  Professor Fraser Stoddart of Northwestern University toasts a glass of champagne with colleagues at a press conference after it was announced that he had won the 2016 Nobel Prize in Chemistry on October 5, 2016 in Evanston, Illinois. Stoddart shares the award with Jean-Pierre Sauvage, of the University of Strasbourg, France, and Bernard L. Feringa, of the University of Groningen, the Netherlands. The trio was awarded the prize for their work in "the design and synthesis of molecular machines."  (Photo by Scott Olson/Getty Images) CRISPR, the gene-editing technology revolutionizing the biotech industry, has failed to take home the Nobel prize in chemistry for the second year in a row. Instead, the award went to Jean-Pierre Sauvage, J. Fraser Stoddart, and Bernard L. Feringa – three men who developed the world’s smallest machines using molecular physics. Each will share equally in the 8 million Swedish kronor,… Read More

Source: News